Organizational structure

The Executive Board

The Executive Board (EB) is the ‘operating’ body of SMASH.

  • Project Coordinator (Prof. Gabrijela Zaharijas)
  • Project Administrator (Mrs. Laura Šušteršič Zorn)
  • Project Financial Manager (Mr. Aljaž Rener)
  • Diversity Officer, (Prof. Andreja Gomboc)
  • Equal-Opportunity Officer ((Dr. Maja Kamenik)
  • an elected representative of the SMASH Fellows (tbd.)

The Governing Board

The Governing Board (GB) is the top decision-making body of the SMASH program and it oversees the recruitment process and the project's implementation phase.

  • Project Coordinator
  • five representatives of the hosting partners:
    • Martina Bergant (UNG);
    • Borut Kerševan (JSI),
    • Marko Robnik Šikonja (UL),
    • Matjaz Ličer (ARSO),
    • Dejan Valh (IZUM)
  • five external members:
    • Michael Bronstein (University of Oxford/DeepMind and Head of Graph Learning Research at Twitter)
    • Tanja Samardžić (University of Zurich, Language and Space Lab, Head of the Text Group),
    • Jean-Philippe PUTAUD (Joint Research Centre of the European Commission in the Air and Climate Unit)
    • Marinka Žitnik (Harvard Medical School, Biomedical Informatics Lab),
    • Fiorenza Donato (University of Torino, Department of Physics, Fellow of the American Physical Society)
  • non-academic representative, Vida Groznik (CEO & co-founder of NEUS Diagnostics d.o.o.).

External Ethics and Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Adviser

Prof. Dr. Jana Javornik (Leeds University Business School)